Thanks to a blog post by Wil Wheaton I just learned of World Wide D&D day. Wil has been making me dredge up childhood memories lately and I can’t thank him enough for that. The geekdad blog at Wired is also posting about it today and even giving away some manuals if you leave a comment. Today I even feel inspired to play or at least grab an old Dragonlance novel for nostalgia sake 🙂

D&D was a huge part of my past, lots and lots of good memories. That one game gave me some life long friends and helped develop a love of Sci-fi and fantasy books. That in turn developed a life long love of reading. I owe a lot to this one simple game and it’s power to spark imagination and creativity.

The trifecta of my childhood was D&D, Star Wars and the Boy Scouts. So far my kids have been exposed to one of the three, Star Wars and they have taken to it like a fish to water. Soon they will be led to the others. I truly hope they enjoy them as much as I did but if not, well at least I tried 🙂

