I really thought my blog was dead.  It’s been 4 months since I have posted, but I saw some very sad news today.  George Carlin died last night, Sunday June 22, at the age of 71 of a heart attack.

George Carlin

George was a hero of mine on many different levels for a long time. I was introduced to him at a young age and thought he was cool, mostly because he cursed a lot 🙂  When I got to High School I started to understand a lot of what he was trying to get me to think about. When I saw him live while I was in college, I got it. He wasn’t just a profane old man, he was someone who tried to illustrate the obsurdities of what is now modern life. He just wanted people to think about what we do and why we do it.

He was an old hippie, not that that’s a bad thing, but George was so much more. He helped spawn a generation of comedeains and even changed the laws that the FCC follows.  His “7 Dirty Words” skit spawned a lawsuit that went all the way to the Supreme Court. He almost single handedly changed the face of television and radio. Not all the changes have been good, but he challenged the conventions of free speech, normality and the establishment making this country a better place to live as far as I am concerned.

George, I’m gonna miss you!

