I saw an interesting article in the Washington Post today. Ron Charles gives his observations on the state of reading in the US. He raises some good points and the article is a good read. Here is one point he makes that’s pretty scary to me since I am an avid reader and hope my kids pick up this habit too, even if it is Harry Potter type books.

I’d like to think that this is a romantic return to youth, but it looks like a bad case of cultural infantilism. And when we’re not horning in on our kids’ favorite books, most of us aren’t reading anything at all. More than half the adults in this country won’t pick up a novel this year, according to the National Endowment for the Arts. Not one. And the rate of decline has almost tripled in the past decade.

Here is a link to the article at the Washington Post.

