wizards-of-odd.jpeg I just finished the short story collection The Wizards of Odd: Comic Tales of Fantasy and really enjoyed it. I picked it up while browsing around PaperbackSwap.com not because it had a good write up, but because three of my favorite authors (Douglas Adams, Ray Bradbury & Terry Pratchett) are featured in the collection. The copyright is 1996 so these aren’t new stories, but they were new to me 🙂 In fact the book is out of print, sadly, but used copies are up on Amazon.

The collection is 24 stories broken down into the three categories of Wizards and Wotsits, Swords and Sorcery and Astronauts and Aliens. As you can tell by the third category these are not all fantasy stories, 8 of them fall into the realm of comic sci-fi. Each story is different and they cross a very broad time scale from the 18th – 20th century. I enjoyed all but two of the stories. One was The Odd Old Bird by Avram Davidson and the other was The Wild Asses of the Devil by H. G. Wells. The second one surprised since I have enjoyed everything I have read by Wells to this date. Oh well ya can’t win them all 🙂

Overall I give the book an B+. It was enjoyable and worth reading for the selections and the variety of writing styles. Heck, I even discovered a few new authors to look for next time I am shopping.


The Wizards of Odd: Comic Tales of Fantasy

